The list of Goondiwindi Visitor Attractions is endless, but we have listed a few of the main ones here. To find out more make sure you call in at Goondiwindi Visitor Centre on the corner of McLean St & Bowen St.
Texas Regional Art Gallery
Cultural Centre, High Street
Telephone: (07) 4653 2614
Tues/Fri 10am – 4pm
Sat 10am – 1pm
Drop into the Texas Art Gallery to exhibit the unique work of local artists. Entry is free and depending on the exhibition, most pieces are generally available for sale.
Due for completion in late 2015 is a new art gallery which will be included in the Goondiwindi Regional Council Cultural and Theatre Redevelopment. So keep an eye out!
Australian Tobacco Museum/Inglewood Heritage Centre
Cnr Victoria and Albert Streets
Open: 2nd and last Sunday of each month from 11.30am – 3.00pm and by appointment
Telephone: (07) 4652 1193
Take a step back into the past and view the artefacts and photographs from a bygone era that was the tobacco industry. Even though the tobacco industry retired from the area in the 1960’s, visitors to the museum can discover the role it played in the development of the region.
The Border Bridge is a historical landmark of Goondiwindi, being built in 1914. It spans across the beautiful MacIntyre River and played a vital role in freight and custom duties between the New South Wales and Queensland borders.
With the bridge being so important to the area it is recommended that visitors take the time to have a look.
Customs House Museum
McLean Street, Goondiwindi
Open: Everyday 10am – 4pm except Tuesdays
Phone: (07) 4671 3041
Discovery the rich history of the 19th Century by visiting the Customs House Museum.
Serving as a border customs point before Federation, this authentically restored building and its magnificent cottage garden, house a priceless and colourful collection of mementos of Goondiwindi history. This includes an extensive variety of books, journals and memorabilia from yesteryear.
When visiting be sure to stop in at Martha’s Cottage which is situated beside the Customs House.
In 2007 the Gunsynd Museum, which is situated within the Goondiwindi Visitor Information Centre, was officially opened along with a Gunsynd statue which stands in the Apex Park.
Visit the museum to see for yourself the number of trophies, rugs, memorabilia and photos which tell the story of this incredible horse whose legend will live on forever. Don’t forget to ahead across the road and snap a picture with the statue against the backdrop of stunning trees.
Located 19km west of Goondiwindi on the Barwon Highway is the Callandoon Pioneer Cemetery.
With only two head stones remaining out of the six graves that were there dating from 1876, the cemetery serves as a fascinating, history-filled break from your drive either coming in our out of town.